Hashbrown Casserole (Crack Potatoes)

Standard

So, this has become a staple at our tailgates and one of my Daddy’s favorites…  Seriously, you won’t ever make normal potato casserole again. It’s that. freakin. good.

Hashbrown Casserole (Crack Potatoes)

1 bag of shredded hash browns (You can use the diced, but I just prefer the shredded.)
1 bag of sharp cheddar cheese
1 envelope of dry ranch dressing mix
1 pkg of real bacon pieces ( I think Hormel and Oscar Mayer both make them. They come in the little zip locked bag in the salad section.)
1 can of cream of chicken soup
1 container of sour cream (I’m not sure on the ounces, but it’s the medium sized container. I think it’s 16ish oz.)
8-10 green onions sliced (You can use more or less or substitute a sweet onion, chopped, if you prefer.)
1 stick of butter, melted
Salt and Black Pepper to taste (I use a good bit of black pepper.)
Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and then transfer to 9×13 baking pan (sprayed with no stick spray). Top with another layer of shredded cheese, if you prefer.  Bake at 350 degrees for 30-45 minutes. I like my top to get a little bit crispy, so I normally give mine an hour, but it really just needs to get good and bubbly. (You can also do this in a crock pot. Just spray crock pot with spray, and then cook on high for about 4 hours. That’s what I normally do for tailgates. If I do this, I normally had a little extra sour cream and about another 1/4 stick of butter so it doesn’t get dry.)
It’s like a loaded baked potato in a casserole!
Enjoy! And thank me every time you take a ridiculously good bite!

About aharvell

Busy all the time, but love every second of it. I have a fantastic job, amazing friends, an incredibly supportive family, and the coolest dog ever. Live for football season and tailgating (War Eagle!), playing in the kitchen, sunshine and good books, bubble baths, and good wine... I love my life.

2 responses »

Leave a comment