Lasagna Soup

Standard

So, it’s my favorite time of year…. The time when the weather cools off, everyone’s Fall seasonal ales are out, Pumpkin Spice Lattes are back, Pumpkin scented candles are burned, beautiful sunsets every night,  October blue skies every day….  and soups are made. Last night the sister was in town so I decided to experiment a little because she’s always willing to be a guinea pig where my cooking is concerned. I was tired of the same ole, same ole taco soup, chili, beef stew, potato soup, black bean soup, etc…. I wanted something new, so I came up with this…  And I must admit, it was pretty darn tasty (I just had leftovers and they might have been even better!)!

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 small onion, diced

1 pound hamburger meat

1 family sized can tomato soup

2 cups chicken stock

1 1/2 cups milk

2 cups half and half

1 pkg refrigerated cheese tortellini 

8-10 sundried tomatoes, chopped

1 can diced italian style tomatoes

4 oz cream cheese (Don’t use fat free or low fat! It won’t melt!)

Italian Seasoning

Garlic Powder

Dried Basil

Dried Oregano

Salt

Pepper

mozzarella cheese (for garnish)

fresh basil (for garnish)

Here’s what you do:

Brown hamburger meat and diced onion with garlic powder (to taste) (y’all know I don’t measure!), italian seasoning, salt, and pepper in large Dutch oven style pot. ( I use my Rachel Ray enameled cast iron pot that is my FAVORITE pot ever.) Add tomato soup, chicken broth, milk, half and half, both kinds of tomatoes, dried basil, dried oregano, and maybe more salt and pepper after you taste (I had to add a little more). Bring to simmer. (Not a rolling boil, you’re using milk!) If you’re in a hurry, go ahead and finish the soup now. Add the cream cheese, let it melt, and then add the cheese tortellini and cook for 15-20 minutes until tortellini is tender. Voila! You’re done… Top with mozzarella cheese and basil or whatever cheese you want or nothing… It’d be fine plain! You also can wait and just let it simmer as long as you want before adding the cream cheese and tortellini. Just don’t add the cream cheese and tortellini until you’re almost ready to eat!  I served it with cheesy garlic bread for a little crunch… Yum!

That’s it! Super simple, super easy, and super delicious! And as always, let me know if you give it a try!! 

Image

 

Until next time….

-A

About aharvell

Busy all the time, but love every second of it. I have a fantastic job, amazing friends, an incredibly supportive family, and the coolest dog ever. Live for football season and tailgating (War Eagle!), playing in the kitchen, sunshine and good books, bubble baths, and good wine... I love my life.

Leave a Reply

